631-588-5024

150 Holbrook Road, Holbrook, NY 11741

  • Monday – Friday 9:30am – 9:00pm
  • Saturday 9:30am – 5:00pm
  • Sunday 12:00pm – 5:00pm

Friends of Sachem Public Library is an enthusiastic and dedicated group of volunteers committed to supporting the Library and enriching our community.

For more than thirty years, funds raised by Friends books sales and donations have made significant contributions to Library programs and services.  Each spring, the group awards two $500 scholarships to graduating seniors living within the Sachem school district.

Friends’ gifts to the library

The Friends generously support the Library’s popular Museum Adventure program and their substantial gifts to the Library over the years include:

  • Inside/Out Garden benches
  • Construction of brick entrance walkway
  • Portable wheelchair
  • Emergency defibrillator
  • Gallery display case on lower level
  • Sound and projection system for Children’s Services
  • Clear View on-screen magnifier for the visually impaired

A key part of the Library’s success, Friends of Sachem Public Library is a dynamic group which looks forward to an exciting future of contribution and collaboration.

We ask you to become a Friend. If you love libraries and your community, join us!

Become a Member

Click the application button for a printable Friends’ Membership Application. Additional applications are available at the Library Welcome Desk. The Friends usually meets on the second Thursday of each month. The Library newsletter and the online events calendar list specific activities and monthly meeting dates and times.

Application

Officers 2017/18


  • President Helene Stimatz

  • Vice President Peter Schramel

  • Secretary Sharon Eckhaus

  • Treasurer Robin Miller

  • Membership June Zinsley

Friends’ Meetings 2019

Date: Time: Location: Type:
Thursday, January 10 10:30am Room A Meeting
Thursday, February 14 10:30am Room A Meeting
Friday, February 15 5:00 – 8:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale Setup
Saturday, February 16 10:00am – 4:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale
Sunday, February 17 12:00 – 3:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale
Thursday, March 14 10:30am Room A Meeting
Friday, March 15 5:00 – 8:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale Setup
Saturday, March 16 10:00am – 4:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale
Sunday, March 17 12:00 – 3:00pm Lobby Friends Book Sale
Thursday, April 11 10:30am Room A Meeting
Friday, April 12 3:00 – 5:00pm Room C Friends Book Sale Setup
Saturday, April 13 10:00am – 4:00pm Room C Friends Book Sale
Sunday, April 14 12:00 – 3:00pm Room A Friends Book Sale
Thursday, May 9 10:30am Room A Meeting
Thursday, June 13 10:30am Room A Meeting
Friday, June 14 12:00 – 3:00pm Rooms A & B Friends Luncheon