I    A  A  A

Teen Links

College

College Board (http://www.collegeboard.com)

College Net (http://www.collegenet.com)

HESC (http://www.hesc.ny.gov)

Sallie Mae (http://www.salliemae.com)

FAFSA (http://www.fafsa.ed.gov)

American Council on Education (http://www.acenet.edu)

College View (http://www.collegeview.com)

The Rise of the Not-For-Profit Online Degree (http://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/degrees/)

Federal Student Aid (https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/prepare-for-college)

Big Future by the College Board-Make a Plan (https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/make-a-plan)

New York Online Colleges (http://www.onlinecolleges.net/new-york/)

Scholarship Information & Postings

US Department of Labor Free Scholarship Search Tool (http://careerinfonet.org/scholarshipsearch/ScholarshipCategory.asp?searchtype=category&nodeid=22)

Scholarships.com (https://www.scholarships.com/main.aspx)

New York State Scholarships (https://www.scholarships.com/financial-aid/college-scholarships/scholarships-by-state/new-york-scholarships/)

New York's Private College and University Admissions and Financial Aid (http://www.nycolleges.org/pay-college/grants-scholarships)

Cappex New York State Scholarships (https://www.cappex.com/scholarships/ByState/New-York/-s-s-NY/)

College Board Scholarship Search (https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/scholarship-search)

Weird Scholarships (http://www.fastweb.com/college-scholarships/articles/weird-scholarships-part-3)

Scholarships for the average student (http://www.fastweb.com/college-scholarships/articles/scholarships-for-average-students)

Suffolk County Scholarship Opportunities (http://www.schoolsoup.com/scholarship-directory/college/suffolk-county-community-college-ammerman-campus/)

NYSFAAA - Long Island Scholarship Opportunities (http://www.nysfaaa.org/docs/student_family/scholarship_searches.html)

Personal Statement / Essay Questions

Purdue OWL Writing Center - Writing a Personal Statement (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/642/01/)

WPI Personal Statements and Essay (http://www.wpi.edu/academics/FS/essays.html)

Student Statement Tips and Examples (http://cabrillo.edu/services/finaid/pdf/STUDENT%20STATEMENT%20TIPS%20AND%20EXAMPLES.pdf)

The Institute for College Access and Success (http://ticas.org/posd/map-state-data)

Back to top

Career

Occupational Outlook Handbook (http://www.bls.gov/oco)

New York State Deptartment of Labor (http://www.labor.state.ny.us)

Back to top

Test Preparation

ACT (http://www.act.org)

SAT (http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/sat/reg.html)

Kaplan (http://www.kaptest.com)

GRE (http://www.ets.org)

New York Regents (http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/regentsexams.htm)

The Princeton Review (http://www.princetonreview.com/)

Back to top

Health

Teen Health (http://www.kidshealth.org/teen)

American Social Health Association (http://www.iwannaknow.org)

Back to top

Homework Help

Rhyming Dictionary (http://www.writeexpress.com/online.html)

Dictionary (http://www.dictionary.reference.com)

Thesaurus (http://thesaurus.reference.com/)

Encyclopedia Britannica (http://www.britannica.com)

The CIA World Fact Book (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html)

High School Ace (http://www.highschoolace.com)

Online Writing Lab OWL (http://owl.english.purdue.edu)

Spark Notes (http://www.sparknotes.com)

Novel Guide (http://www.novelguide.com)

Complete Shakespeare (http://shakespeare.mit.edu)

Pink Monkey (http://pinkmonkey.com/index2.asp)

Back to top

Schools

Sachem Central School Dictrict (http://www.sachem.edu)

Sagamore Middle School Library (https://sites.google.com/site/sagamorelibrary/)

Samoset Middle School Library (http://www.sachem.edu/schools/samoset/library/Entry%20Portal%20Samoset%20Library.htm)

Seneca Middle School Library (http://senecalibrary.weebly.com/)

Sequoya Middle School Library (https://sites.google.com/site/sequoyamiddleschoollibrary/)

Sachem East Library (http://sachemeasthslibrary.weebly.com/)

Sachem North Library (https://sites.google.com/site/sachemnorthlibrary/)

Back to top

Books

Reading Rants (http://www.readingrants.org)

YALSA Book and Media Awards Lists (http://www.ala.org/yalsa/bookawards/booklists/members)

Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com)

Teen Reads (http://www.teenreads.com/)

Back to top

For Fun

Anime News Network (http://www.animenewsnetwork.com)

All Music (http://www.allmusic.com)

Artist Direct (http://www.artistdirect.com)

Craftster (http://www.craftster.org)

Games (http://www.arcadearena.com)

Teenk Ink (http://www.teenink.com)

Famous Birthdays (http://www.historyorb.com/today/birthdays.php)

How Stuff Works (http://www.howstuffworks.com)

Phone Spelling (http://www.phonespelling.com)

Cheat Codes (http://www.cheatcc.com)

Dollz Mania (http://www.dollzmania.com)

Quizland - Games, Puzzles, etc. (http://www.quizland.com)

Back to top

Online Magazines

Teen People (http://www.people.com)

MAD (http://www.dccomics.com/mad)

PC Gamer (http://www.pcgamer.com)

Sports Illustrated (http://si.com)

Seventeen (http://www.seventeen.com)

Rolling Stone (http://www.rollingstone.com)

Enterainment Weekly (http://www.ew.com/ew)

J14 (http://www.j-14.com/)

Alternative Press (http://www.altpress.com/)

Teen Vogue (http://www.teenvogue.com/)

Back to top

Hotlines

Alcoholics Anonymous (http://www.suffolkny-aa.org)

Long Island Crisis Center(http://www.longislandcrisiscenter.org)

Response of Suffolk County (http://www.responsehotline.org)

L.I. Against Domestic Violence (http://www.liadv.org/)

Victims Information Bureau of Suffolk (http://www.vibs.org)

Suffolk County Youth Bureau (http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/CountyExecutive/YouthBureau.aspx)

Brighter Tomorrows (http://www.brightertomorrowsli.org/)

Lifeline (http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/)

National Runaway Switchboard (http://www.1800runaway.org/)

NYS Child Abuse Reporting Hotline (http://ocfs.ny.gov/main/cps/)

Brookhaven Youth Bureau (http://www.brookhaven.org/Departments/Housing-Human-Services/Youth-Bureau)

Planned Parenthood (http://www.plannedparenthood.org/)

Long Island Gay and Lesbian Youth (http://lgbtnetwork.org/ligaly)

NIDA for Teens (http://teens.drugabuse.gov/)

Back to top