I    A  A  A


Hours of Operation

The Library is open:

Mon. through Fri.:
9:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Noon to 5:00 p.m.



Sachem Public Library is located in Suffolk County at 150 Holbrook Road, Holbrook, New York.

Driving East:

Exit the LIE at Exit 61. At the first traffic light, which is Patchogue-Holbrook Road, go straight, passing over Patchogue-Holbrook Road. Stay on the Service Road until you reach the second traffic light. Make a left on Holbrook Road. Proceed under the LIE and continue down Holbrook Road approximately 1/2 mile. The Library will be on the left; across from Nokomis Elementary School.

Driving West:

Exit the LIE at Exit 62. Stay on the Service Road for 6/10 of a mile. At the first traffic light, make a right onto Holbrook Road. Continue down Holbrook Road for approximately 1/2 mile. The Library will be on the left; across from Nokomis Elementary School.

View Larger Map


Emergency Closing Information

If the Library is closed due to inclement weather or an emergency, you may check the following for information:

  • The Library's Homepage and Facebook page
  • Radio Stations:
    • WBAB 102.3
    • WBLI 106.1
    • WIGX 94.3
    • WJVC 96.1
    • KJOY 98.3
    • B103 103.1
    • WRCN 103.9
  • NEWS12 television station's webpage
  • The Library's recorded telephone announcement - 631-588-5024

Scheduled Closings

Sachem Public Library will be closed on the following days in 2015 & 2016:

Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day
Friday, January 1 New Year's Day
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King's Birthday
Monday, February 15 President's Day
Sunday, March 27 Easter Sunday
Sunday, May 8 Mother's Day
Sunday, May 29 Memorial Day Sunday
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day
Sunday, June 19 Father's Day
Sunday, July 3 Independence Day Sunday
Monday, July 4 Independence Day
Sunday, September 4 Labor Day Sunday
Monday, September 5 Labor Day
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day
Thursday, November 24 Thanksgiving Day
Saturday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 25 Christmas Day
Monday, December 26 Legal Holiday Christmas Day


In addition, the Library will close early on:

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 @ 5 p.m.
Thursday, December 31, 2015 @ 3 p.m.
Wednesday, November 23, 2016 @ 5 p.m.
Saturday, December 31, 2016 @ 3 p.m.

Outside Drop Box Hours

Items may be returned to the drive up drop box 24 hours a day 7 days a week. The drop box is located on the left side of the entrance driveway. Items returned before the Library opens will be considered returned the previous day.