Sachem Public Library

 

CHILDREN'S RESEARCH LINKS

Library Card = Use In Library (NO library card required)
Library Card No = Use Outside Library (Library card barcode and password required)
           
    BookFlix     ProQuest Newspapers
In Library
Outside of Library BookFlix In Library Outside of Library National Newspapers Expanded
    An online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks. By engaging fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and expands children's knowledge of the world around them. BookFlix is accessible to every child – early readers, reluctant readers, and English Language Learners. (Library card barcode ALWAYS required)     Full-text, online access to many of the most respected and widely read national and regional newspapers in the U.S., including The Wall Street Journal, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post and USA Today.
           
        New York
In Library Outside of Library Britannica Elementary
In Library
Outside of Library
New York State Newspapers
    Britannica School Elementary is a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary School students. It contains encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.    

A database of articles from 32 newspapers all around the state of New York including Albany, Buffalo, Ithaca, Syracuse, New York City and more, back to 1980.

           
        New York Times
In Library
Outside of Library
CultureGrams
In Library
Outside of Library
New York Times 1980 - current
    CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes 4 editions: the World Edition (for middle school students and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students).
In Library
Outside of Library
New York Times Historical 1851-2009
Full text of the New York Times newspaper.
           
    FreedomFlix     Newsday
In Library Outside of Library FreedomFlix
In Library
Outside of Library
Newsday 1985 - current
    FreedomFlix is a digital resource designed to engage even the most reluctant readers. Covering ten subjects in the social studies curricula, FreedomFlix offers dozens of units. Each contains an introductory video, an intuitive ebook, related articles, primary sources, vetted weblinks, project ideas, and so much more.
In Library
Outside of Library
Newsday Historical 1940-1984
Full-text of Newsday, the local New York City and Long Island newspaper.
           
    Gannett     NoveList Plus K-8
In Library Outside of Library Gannett Newsstand Complete
In Library
Outside of Library
Novelist Plus K-8
    Exclusive access to 85 full-text newspapers from Gannett spanning 30 states, including 6 from New York state. Plus an additional 7 U.S. military titles.    

Fiction and nonfiction readers’ advisory for children and young adults.

           
    Global Road Warrior     Opposing Viewpoints
In Library
Outside of Library
Global Road Warrior In Library Outside of Library Opposing Viewpoints
    Regularly updated travel & professional information, high-resolution maps, and culture reports. 175 countries – from A to Z, it’s all at your fingertips.     An online resource covering today’s hottest social issues such as Offshore Drilling, Climate Change, Health Care, and Immigration. It helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
           
    Brainfuse Help Now     ScienceFlix
X
Outside of Library Help Now Live Study Help In Library Outside of Library ScienceFlix
    Students get on-demand one-on-one help from a professional academic tutor or career tutor in more than 20 Math, Science, or English subjects as well as GED prep and resume writing. (Library card barcode ALWAYS required)     ScienceFlix provides an in depth examination on more than 30 different scientific topics including earth science, space science, life science, health & human body, physical science, and technology & engineering. Featuring videos, articles, project ideas, experiments, quizzes, and featured careers.
           
    History Reference Center     Science Online
In Library
Outside of Library
History Reference Center
In Library
Outside of Library
Science Online
   

Comprehensive, full-text, history reference database designed for secondary schools and undergraduate research. Features full text for 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books.

   

A comprehensive overview of a broad range of sciences in a variety of formats organized by subject area and type of resource including definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

           
    Infotrac Newsstand     Something About the Author
In Library
Outside of Library
Infotrac Newsstand
In Library
Outside of Library
Something About the Author
    This full-text database has a number of New York newspapers such as the Sun, Observer, Daily News and the Post along with almost 3000 other national and internation newspapers.    

Illustrated biographical profiles of children's and young adult authors and artists covering their personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources.

           
    Kids Infobits     TrueFlix
In Library Outside of Library Kids InfoBits
In Library
Outside of Library TrueFlix
    More than 100 full-text, age-appropriate magazines; more than 6400 searchable, indexed images; Merriam-Webster’s Elementary Dictionary; 1200 maps, flags & seals; and over 1700 colorful
charts and graphs.
    TrueFlix leverages Scholastic's True Books content to help students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process. All of the True Book titles are supported with related content and primary sources featuring videos, audio, images, and text.
           
    Learning Express 3.0     Newspapers
In Library
Outside of Library
Learning Express 3.0
In Library
Outside of Library
U.S./International Major Newspapers
    There are Learning Centers for students of each level of schooling that include skill-building exercises in math, reading, social studies, science, writing, and more. There is a College Prep learning center that includes SAT test prep, ACT test prep, and more. And even a College Learning Center that adds such topic as personal finance and public speaking skill-building.    

A full-text collection of over 1400 regional, national and international newspapers.

           
    Literature Resource Center     Wall Street Journal
In Library
Outside of Library
Literature Resource Center In Library Outside of Library Wall Street Journal 1984 - current
   

Information on authors and their works, from all time periods and from around the world.

    Full text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper, an international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.
           
    Muzzy Online     World Book Web
X
Outside of Library Muzzy Online Language Course In Library Outside of Library World Book Web
    MUZZY Online offers total immersion language courses and is an animated, fun and free program designed to guide children on the journey to learning a new language. It features a full suite of immersion learning videos, games, songs and printable activities in 8 different languages for the whole family. (Library card barcode ALWAYS required)     Offers encyclopedia and other reference articles; more than 20,000 photos, illustrations, and maps; hundreds of videos; a dictionary; an atlas; timeline and citation builders; current news; and magazine articles.
           
    National Geographic KIDS      
In Library Outside of Library National Geographic KIDS      
    National Geographic Kids includes National Geographic Kids magazine 2009-present (3 month embargo); 200 National Geographic Kids books on topics like oceanic animals, African wildlife, sports, adventure and exploration; and 500 kid-friendly, downloadable images from around the world of animals, ecosystems, people, cultures, history, science and technology subjects.      
           

**If you have any questions or problems using this page, please contact Children's Services 631-588-5024,
or email Children's Services.